Remembering John H. Elliott at SBL: his contribution to social scientific biblical interpretation and its relevance to social justice organizing

November 21, 2021, 7pm Eastern Time ~ 6pm Central Time ~ 4pm Pacific Time

Jack Elliott at CLBSJ's Founding Conference in 2011

Rev. Dr. John H. “Jack” Elliott (1935–2020) was known internationally for his research on 1 Peter (especially A Home for the Homeless, Wipf and Stock, 2005) and as a leading proponent of the social-scientific study of the Bible. Less well known is his 4-volume work on the “Evil Eye” tradition as it informs our understanding of the bible, that he was a co-founder and longtime Board President of CLBSJ, and the many activist efforts he participated in—including labor organizing and immigrant solidarity work.

On Sunday, November 21, at 6pm Central Time (7pm Eastern Time), please join CLBSJ and members of the Context Group to reflect on Jack’s legacy — his contribution to social scientific biblical interpretation and its relevance to social justice organizing — and to dialogue about how we can best work together to carry it forward.

This facilitated conversation will be both online and in person, and there will be space for open sharing. It is organized in concert with the 2021 Annual Meetings of the American Academy of Religion and Society of Biblical Literature (AAR/SBL).

To register online, please click here:

If you will be attending AAR/SBL in person in San Antonio, we will gather at the Marriott Rivercenter, Conference Room 20-21. A group will also be gathering at CLBSJ’s main collection in Stony Point, NY. To RSVP to an in person gathering, please email clbsjorg@gmail.com

Click here to read more about Jack.

Photo: Jack speaks at CLBSJ’s inaugural gathering. © Tim Nafziger, used with permission.